Response To Stephanie Padgett Discussion

30 Jan

Stephanie Padgett brought up many interesting points about the emerging changes in the media industry. I found it extremely interesting that she had such a pessimistic view of the future of advertising, since she is in the Ad world herself. However, her arguments made sense, and since then I have noticed how I have been affected by digital and mobile media.

Yesterday afternoon, I decided to go on a shopping spree. Instead of going to the mall, or downtown boutiques, I went on a Groupon-buying spree. I bought 5 different Groupons, simply because I enjoy the convenience of sitting at home. Then, I went on Amazon and bought 5 new phone covers. I very easily could have bought all of these products in stores, but instead I bought them online. Most of the products I bought were produced by brands I had never heard of, but were simply the first items to show up on my search at a reasonable price. This is a prime example of how we will have to change the advertising industry to target users online and on mobile devices.

Another point I found interesting was that watching TV online diminishes profits for local TV stations. It makes sense, but is something I had never thought of before. I am an avid hulu and Netflix user, as are many of my friends. I am interested to see how the increased use of online TV will affect the cable TV industry.

One Response to “Response To Stephanie Padgett Discussion”

  1. sreynolds January 30, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    In response to what Stephanie Padgett said in class, I would agree that tv as we know it is on the way out. I don’t think that news shows or especially tv shows are on the way out though; just changing how we watch them. I think that instead of watching a half hour or hour newscast, we’re going to look for the segment that we want to watch to be put on the station’s website. Instead of sitting down at specific times to watch a show, the shows will be uploaded to hulu or netflix at a specific time every week. People are not going to pay for cable, just streaming video subscriptions.
    Along with the changes in how the press conducts itself, the model for which the business sits has had to adapt to those same changes. The original model of pictorial ads in magazines and newspapers are definitely still around, just not with the same oomf as before. Commercial ads have also had to develop and change from the thirty second slots to being more internet and YouTube friendly versions of the products.
    During Stephanie Padgett’s lecture, she pointed out quite a few things about advertising that I had not really taken the time to notice. For the most part, I’ve grown up with advertising changing and haven’t paid it any attention. However, we talked about different advertising platforms that are fairly new, for example; ads on the side of facebook, or the promoted websites on Google, or even the ads that pop up before and while you watch YouTube videos. Of course I’ve noticed these ads, I know they’re there, but I’ve never stopped twice to think about them.
    Currently those are the ads that are the biggest source of revenue, but they aren’t measured under any specific category. But as we learned in class, everything about the advertising industry is changing. How those ads are created, how they’re funded and paid for, all of it is evolving to support a different kind of journalism and a different kind of tv watching, radio listening; everything.

Leave a Reply

